Running With the Will for 15 Years

MarcFBR

Big Cheese
Staff
Admin
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Hey, been 5 years since one of these.

It's been 15 years since the 'new' version of With the Will began.

Which means I've been running it for 15 years, which is long... since I never planned to be that involved.

Like last time, lots to think about over 15 years, some good, bad, mostly good.

We got input into the dub cast for Savers, people are always pleased when new stuff gets announced, and just the general fun of seeing people talk about Digimon.

The bad is the generally higher sense of entitlement and negativity, although that isn't something specific to Digimon.

I only started watching Digimon because they promised an ad for the next Transformers series.

At the moment I'm pretty happy with how the site is.

The software setup at the moment seems to work well, and seems to work on the various platforms people use, even if there are improvements to be made.

Various bits of the site wouldn't run without various people, including but not limited to:
Vande, who tends to do most of the moderation.
lost, who continues to make sure the backend run, alongside implementing any of the requests I have on how to improve things.
onkei, who isn't technically staff, but has spent much more time in the last few years helping with translations which helps improve any number of things.

Sure I'm missing others, but this is mostly stream of consciousness as I look at the one I did 5 years ago in the middle of the night.

I tend to be more active and hands on than many admins on websites, which tends to show flaws (and the occasional positive) more than often.
I take general pride in that I'll argue with someone about some bit about the franchise, and the discussion tends to simply continue.