Digital Monster X discussion

humulos

I'm going digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
531
Location
Battery Saving
Connecting the DMX1 with the DMX2 will unlock something on the DMX2, but not on the DMX1. If you do want to be able to get as much as you can on the DMX2, getting a DMX Black may be worth it for you.
 

Stryke107

Completely digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
748
Location
USA
Hey everyone! Long time, no post. If anyone is interested, Bandai Premium has the X3 up for preorder now.
 

drtomoe123

I'm a Maniac
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
141
Age
31
Location
Virginia
Woohoo! I had been waiting with fingers crossed that they'd post the pre-order soon. I just got a free shipping coupon a few days ago too!
 

Metalgreymon7

Ain't got no mojo...
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
13
I recently purchased 20th anniversary Digivice and am considering buying a digital monster x can they connect together in order to battle
 
Last edited:

humulos

I'm going digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
531
Location
Battery Saving
I recently purchased 20th anniversary Digivice and am considering buying a digital monster x can they connect together in order to battle
They can indeed! They use a simplified battle system to connect to each other, so as a heads up, battling a DM20 against a DMX will not count towards any unlocks.
 

Metalgreymon7

Ain't got no mojo...
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
13
Thanks, I've been wanting to get one of the DMX's because of the features but knowing it will be compatible with my 20th makes it extra worth the cost
 

BladeSabre

I come from the net
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
1,890
Location
UK
I've been having another go at the DMX recently. (Didn't use them much when I first got them.)

Was there a conclusion about whether the dice-roll is random? I think some people were saying it wasn't. And do we have any idea about how the random events work yet?

Humulos, I've been using your site a lot, and it's been very useful. I have been having some difficulty on these points:

  • The black and white charts have different coloured borders, but since they're so big and some of the Digimon are the same, I still often find myself looking at the wrong one. How about making the background colours different too? Actually, I thought they were different - seems like the gradients on the backgrounds had me confused for days ;)
  • Could you make the escape key close the Digimon info popups? I keep expecting it to, because other sites like Facebook do that.
  • Also because of the size of the DMX charts, I'm having a little trouble scrolling around. And the browser zoom level doesn't seem to apply to them. I'm not sure what the best solution is here.
And a few trivial corrections:

  • Puttomon says sleep time 21:00, but it doesn't sleep.
  • Dracomon X says clear area 2, but it's 3.
  • Sistermon Ciel is missing the requirement from Sistermon Blanc.
  • Valdurmon and BelialVamdemon have "other conditions not met" requirements, but from the chart, looks like they also need below certain numbers of care mistakes.
  • In the quest map, the area 17-19 rest locations should actually be in the same place as for 10-16.
 

humulos

I'm going digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
531
Location
Battery Saving
  • Funnily enough, I did indeed try using different colored backgrounds during initial development, but it was much too hard to read depending on the colors being used, so I stuck with border colors instead. Concerning your specific point though, you've given me a different idea that I think I'll look into: sticky headers. That way you will never lose track of which chart you are on.
  • I can definitely look into the escape key! As a heads up, it DOES allow you to hit the back button to close the pop-ups as well.
  • Browser zoom is working for me, at least on Desktop. What are you using? As for size, yeah it's a tough problem for sure. I have ideas, but they redistribute the problem instead of fixing it. For example, I can use a 1.5 column layout which will reduce the vertical distance, but will increase the horizontal. I could also add an option to hide requirements, but that seems counter intuitive lol. I've also experimented with a lot of different arrangements for the Digimon so that you aren't traveling as far from one stage to the next, which is how I set up the Pen20 and DM20 charts to make them nice and tight, but the DMX is so full of overlaps! Every method I've attempted still results in a big mess of spaghetti. The good news is that since evolutions can be navigated from within the Digimon profile cards, the chart doesn't need to be entirely relied upon by itself if paths start getting confusing lol.

As for your corrections, they have been implemented now! Never even thought about the Belial/Valdur thing, so I'm glad you brought that up. Thank for reporting all that!
 

BladeSabre

I come from the net
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
1,890
Location
UK
My mistake about the browser zoom - seems that was a setting I changed myself. But I zoomed it to 50% and things are too small to see, so that didn't help much ;)

An option to hide requirements might actually be a good idea.

I also noticed I can pan with the arrow keys provided the background has focus, but it loses focus if I open a pop-up and then close it again. So it might help if the background would grab focus again when a pop-up is closed.
 

humulos

I'm going digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
531
Location
Battery Saving
The first X2 devices have been reaching users in Japan! Anyone have shipping updates for their yet? Still waiting myself, but based on previous experiences I expect to have it by Black Friday.

I've also set up a sheet for collecting information, as usual. This time I included likely evolution conditions as well. If anyone receives their device and wants to help, feel free to comment on the sheet below.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RcynxSjBLdYLmdDraowOajFjB1BkWFYA5H9t4Y3X690
 

BladeSabre

I come from the net
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
1,890
Location
UK
I meant to ask, did Bandai publish the X1 evolution requirements, or was that all from testing?
 

humulos

I'm going digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
531
Location
Battery Saving
They did indeed! The bulk of the guide was initially handled via collaborative information gathering from the community and using my own debugged devices, but the in between requirements and one major requirement was revealed from Bandai when they released every evo condition in on big dump, found here:

https://toy.bandai.co.jp/series/digimon/topics/detail/856/

Glad they did, because the condition for defeating Stage VI Digimon was really throwing me off.
 

drtomoe123

I'm a Maniac
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
141
Age
31
Location
Virginia
I'm excited to see the X2 news as it comes out! Mine are coming from the US Premium Bandai and they're still listed as coming in December so I'll try to be patient. :)
 

humulos

I'm going digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
531
Location
Battery Saving

Convergencia Digital

Ain't got no mojo...
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Mar 6, 2016
Messages
11
I don't know why my platinum numemon isn't evolving. It evolved to Platinum Numemon last thursday (but on saturday I had to change the battery) and I haven't made a single care mistake, yet, my digimon hasn't evolved to Omegamon X even tho I've met all the requirments (yes, I've cleared all 30 areas and leveled it up to lvl 30), so any ideas what may be happening?
 

Loke

Red shirt
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jun 29, 2019
Messages
65
I love this device, but he only annoying aspect of it to me are these random events. I had my Tobucatmon at level 5 so he would evolve into Skullbaluchimon, but then I got attacked by Damemon 3 times. I couldn't lose all 3 times in a row, so of course my digimon leveled up to 6, meaning that I'm stuck evolving into metal grey Mon now.
 

humulos

I'm going digital
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
531
Location
Battery Saving
Yeah that is definitely frustrating. Just keep in mind that you can ignore random events if you like! Granted you will have to sit through the beeping for 5 minutes, but otherwise there is no penalty for not answering a random event.
 

BlackWargreymon

Ain't got no mojo...
Show User Social Media
Hide User Social Media
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
9
Location
Dejimon Wārudo
Yeah that is definitely frustrating. Just keep in mind that you can ignore random events if you like! Granted you will have to sit through the beeping for 5 minutes, but otherwise there is no penalty for not answering a random event.
Hi Humulos,
Thanks for doing the Evolution Guide, it helped greatly on how to get my BlackWargreymonX
But just a quick question, to evolve BlackWargreymon X to Demon X, it says "Clear Special Random Encounter"
But so far, My digimon did have a few random encounter from the same digimon that look like Snailmon (not sure what's it's name).

May I know How to Clear Special Random Encounter?
Thanks!
 
Top