PDA

View Full Version : Digimon Style Game Development Project (download update 2/13/08)

AncientWisemon
12-28-2006, 08:48 AM
I am a professor at New Jersey Institute of Technology.
This summer my students and I are going to build a game from scratch. Being the Digmon fan that I am, I have challenged them to make a Digimon-style game. This game will not be Digimon, but one that will look and feel very close.

The Game will have these guidelines for development:
- Digimon Style (Evolutions, elementals, 5 stages of evolution)
- No Tamers, you ARE the monster.
- Skill Based character advancement (no xp, no levels. Use a skill, it gets stronger. Use a strength based skill, strength gets stronger too)
- On-Line support (battle head to head, plus other styles of play (CTF, DotA, Deathmatch, Co-Op)
- Active Combat System (not a turn-based game like FF or Digimon Story. See the Star Ocean Series or Tales of Symphonia for examples)
- Cross platform (PC, MAC, Linux, BSD, etc)
- 2D sprite based graphics (easy to create new sprites, supports standard file types (PNG, BMP)
- Controller Support
- Expandable (map and character editors will be developed so non-programmers can add to the game)
- Full explorable world - Different areas will influence elemental experience, offer different quest, have world based challenges (to be overcomewith abilities)
- Karma / Honor based - The actions of the character will determine Holy / Dark alignment, not just which types of monsters killed.
- Factions - There will be different "factions" or groups with different goals. These factions will give quests depending on player's actions. (ie: Do Good, get offered good quests, Do Evil, get offered Evil Quests. Be Balanced and be offerred neutral quests) You may make yourself an enemy of a faction.

My question to the WtW-X community is: Given the guidelines, what would you like to see in a Digimon-esque game?
Please no "Put ***-mon in the game!".

jfred
12-28-2006, 12:10 PM